top of page

Rosie


Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. What a funny little saying. Of course, it’s redundant advice considering our subconsciouses are intrinsically programmed to do just that: judge books by their covers. Everyone does it, and if you are the one person whose subconscious is neutral in biases, then well done (but I doubt you are). In today’s society, covers are not covers, but are the first chapter. I have grown up in the diverse city of London yet i still come across people, who when first looking at me, will immediately diagnose me by my own cover. Lots of stereotypes come along with that cover whether they’re good or bad. I’ve encountered people who think they know so much about me just because I’m mixed. They assume that I must be good at sports, or love dancing, singing, or spicy foods (hate to not conform to a stereotype, but I actually use the mild peri-peri at Nando’s). One might also assume that I am aggressive and dangerous. Best to steer clear of that animalistic Afro. I am more white than black, but society leads me to associate myself more with my black heritage a lot of the time, as well as making me question what I’m ‘allowed’ do while identifying with that heritage. I recognise my privilege in being a light-skin, but my reality is that I’m stuck in the middle of two identities and a lot of the time that’s more exasperating than you would think.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Did you find this interesting? Let me know via email or Direct Message on Instagram and remember to share this page with your friends and family.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page