top of page

Desiree Fitzgerald


I am first generation British-Guyanese born in London with a white dad and a black mother. Attending predominantly white private schools all my life, I have socially been surrounded and educated in a white British culture, yet growing up I have been strengthened by my Guyanese family and have always understood the essence of my Guyanese culture. I’ve been told that I am not black enough because of my voice or my friendships, but I have grown up to always understanding my Guyanese side and am completely proud of my Guyanese heritage. I grew up around opinionated strong black women through my aunt, sister, mum, godmother and grandmother and that is something I have been grateful for as it has prevented me from being swayed by my white surroundings and made me the person I am today. Being mixed doesn’t make make me more one side than the other, my father always reminds me that our lineage can be traced back to the 11th century and my mum never fails to break out into a Guyanese accent when talking to our relatives in Georgetown (particularly my great grandmother who will turn 102 in may). I've never been made to feel uncomfortable by any of my fathers side as my grandparents lived in the Cameroon’s when they were younger and my aunts grew up in the Cameroon’s so were familiar and respecting a non-British culture. I am grateful for my British-Guyanese identity and especially grateful that I don’t have to eat unseasoned food.


Desiree Fitzgerald

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Did you find this interesting? Let me know via email or Direct Message on Instagram and remember to share this page with your friends and family.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page